A perfect weekend in Paris

Although he has spent most of his life in Germany, Aimé Sans has always stayed French. Très French, indeed. Like so many of his fellow countrymen, he loves life’s pleasures, good food, excellent wines. This autumn, he has spent a week with his family in the French capital. Here are his recommendations for a romantic weekend à deux in the “City of Love”.

Friday

Catch an early Transavia flight to Paris. We are heading to Saint-Germain-des-Prés, my favourite quarter. “Rive Gauche”, the left bank of the Seine has always been home to artists and intellectuals. Today it is packed with art galleries and boutiques, with cool bars and typical restaurants. Notre Dame on its island is just a stone throw away, and the majestic Louvre right across the river.

Where to stay? “La Villa” is a charming, elegant boutique hotel in a truly perfect location. The rooms are small like everywhere in the French Capital, but it is peaceful and quiet in quaint “rue Jacob”, which is priceless. I recommend to always check the window situation before booking a hotel room  in Paris: Even good hotels sometimes offer rooms that have practically NO window. Booking a higher room category might be a good investment.

We drop off our luggage in the hotel and kick-off the weekend with an excellent lunch just around the corner in Café Bonaparte, right on Place Saint-Germain with a beautiful view of the old abbey. Totally French fare with a world-class beef tatare. We celebrate life with a glass of French Champagne – it doesn’t taste better anywhere else in the world!

After lunch we slowly make our way to “Île de la Cité” and admire mighty “Notre Dame”, no doubt one of the world’s most impressive cathedrals.  On the neighbouring Île Saint Louis we indulge in a café crème in the sun followed by the city’s best ice cream at “Berthillon”.

Later we spend a very “serge-gainsbourg-esque” evening: Apéritif in Prescription Cocktail Club, just a romantic stroll away from the hotel. Charming bar keepers and excellent cocktails in a cosy, very French boho setting. On to Chez Papa” – a typical left bank jazz club serving delicious scallops Saint Jacques , a bottle of Sancerre and crème brûlee. The music is great and we are taken back to the 60s when Saint Germain’s jazz clubs hosted all of the big names in French music.

Saturday

When in Paris, stay away from overpriced hotel breakfast! I prefer a croissant or brioche in the quaint little corner café – almost all of them offer a typical Parisian breakfast.

Then on to sight seeing: I love the hop-on-hop-off busses. As there is little difference in service but a considerable difference in price, I recommend Foxity, offering the best deal in town. The full tour of Paris’ must-sees takes about two hours. We get off at the Eiffel Tower and are incredibly lucky: no endless lines of visitors, we can take the elevator straight up to the top. Can’t beat the view, and a glass of Champagne from the kiosk on the top will make for a real Paris moment.

The early afternoon is spent on the banks of the Seine. Some of the best spots are found between Louvre and Île de la Cité. We get a picknick lunch of sandwiches, quiche and cupcakes from one of Paris’ countless excellent delis.

Then either on to Shopping in the Marais on the right bank (small streets packed with little boutiques – don’t miss a coffee stopp at dreamy “Place des Vosges”, one of Paris most beautiful historic squares!). Or on to fabulous Musée d’Orsay, where you can admire all the big impressionists in the spectacular architecture of an Art Déco train Station (book your tickets ahead!).

At night: We indulge in an exquisite dinner at Michelin star awarded “L’Hôtel” in the heart of Saint Germain, probably the most romantic restaurant in tout Paris. In fact, the Irish poet Oscar Wilde lived in the luxurious boutique hotel – totally above his means, bien sûr- until his death in 1900!

Sunday

The incredibly picturesque lane of “Cours de Commerce Saint André” is only a little stroll away from our hotel and home to a handful of typical little Restaurants. Among them “Un Dimanche à Paris”, a chic restaurant and “Chocolate Concept Store” offering a sumptuous Sunday brunch. We a buy a few delicious souvenirs for our dear ones before making our way back home… with a full belly and a heavy heart. Au revoir, Paris.

Obwohl er den Großteil seines Lebens in Deutschland verbracht hat, ist B+N Geschäftsführer Aimé Sans Franzose durch und durch. In diesem Herbst hat er einen Familienurlaub in der Stadt der Liebe verbracht. Hier sind seine besten Tipps für das perfekte Wochenende in Paris:

 

Freitag

Mit der Transavia geht’s morgens nach Paris. Mein Lieblingsviertel ist Saint-Germain-des-Prés am unkonventionellen linken Seine-Ufer „Rive Gauche“ – seit jeher die Heimat der Intellektuellen und Künstler der Stadt. Von hier ist es nur einen Steinwurf zur Île de la Cité.

Mein Hoteltipp ist das „La Villa“, ein elegantes, kleines Boutique-Hotel mit Charme in perfekter Lage. Die Zimmer sind klein, wie überall in Paris, dafür ist es nachts ruhig in der malerischen Rue Jacob. Generell sollte man in allen Hotels in Paris besonderes Augenmerk auf die Fenstersituation legen: Auch bessere Hotels haben oft Zimmer hintenheraus, die quasi fensterlos sind. Lieber eine Zimmerkategorie höher buchen!
Wir stellen das Gepäck ins Hotel und gehen erst mal ausgezeichnet lunchen um die Ecke im Café Bonaparte, gleich an der Place Saint-Germain mit schönem Blick auf die Kirche. Französischer geht’s kaum – das Tatare ist weltklasse. Wir feiern den Tag mit einem Glas Champagner (nirgendwo schmeckt er so gut wie in Paris!)

Nachmittags schlendern wir rüber zur „Île de la Cité“ und bewundern „Notre Dame“ eine der schönsten und eindrucksvollsten Kathedralen der Welt. Auf der Nachbarinsel Île Saint Louis trinken wir einen Café Crème in der Sonne und gönnen uns um’s Eck bei „Berthillon“ das beste Eis der Stadt.

Abends: Serge Gainsbourg lässt grüßen! Zum Apéritif in den angesagten Prescription Cocktail Club, einen romantischen kleinen Spaziergang vom Hotel entfernt. Die Barkeeper sind so charmant wie die Cocktails gut sind. Die Atmosphäre ist très bohème, gemütlich und intim. Danach schlendern wir ein paar Minuten weiter in den Jazzclub „Chez Papa“ – gutes Essen in origineller Atmosphäre untermalt von exzellenter Live-Musik. Wir fühlen uns zurückversetzt in die 60er Jahre, als in den Jazz-Kellern von Saint Germain die Karriere von vielen großen Namen startete…

 

Samstag

Wer in Paris ein überteuertes Hotelfrühstück zu sich nimmt, ist selber schuld! Lieber ein Croissant oder eine Brioche beim Boulanger an der Ecke. Die vielen netten Brasserien in der Gegend bieten alle ein typisches Pariser Frühstück an.

Danach steht Sightseeing auf dem Programm. Ich bin bekennender Fan der Hop-on-Hop-off Busse, die in Paris zuhauf unterwegs sind. Qualitätsunterschiede gibt es kaum, deshalb empfehle ich Foxity, die preisgünstigste Variante. Die Tour dauert ca. zwei Stunden, am Eifelturm steigen wir aus und haben Glück: keine Schlange! Nichts wie rauf zur Spitze und dort für einen besonderen Moment an der Bar ein Gläschen Champagner erstehen – der Blick lohnt sich!

Am frühen Nachmittag dann ein Picknick am Seine-Ufer. Zwischen Louvre und „Île de la Cité“ warten wunderschöne Plätzchen mit Bänken in der Sonne. Es gibt unzählige gute „Traiteurs“ in den Straßen von Paris, bei denen man sich mit Quiche, Salaten, lecker belegten Baguettes und Törtchen eindecken kann.

Danach je nach Laune zum Shoppen ins Marais am rechten Seine-Ufer (viele nette Boutiquen in kleinen Gassen – unbedingt auch einen Café an der verträumten Place des Vosges einplanen!) oder ins großartige Musée d’Orsay, wo sich in spektakulärer Architektur das Who-is-Who des Impressionismus die Ehre gibt (Karten vorbestellen!)

Abends: Wir dînieren erlesen und ganz im Geiste des Wahlparisers Oscar Wilde im „L’Hôtel“ mitten in Saint-Germain. Das mit einem Michelin-Stern gekrönte Restaurant könnte vielleicht das romantischte in tout Paris sein. Tatsächlich war das kleine Luxushotel die letzte Wohnstätte des irischen Dandy-Poeten. Sehenswert!

 

Sonntag

Im „Cours de Commerce Saint André“, einer zauberhaften Fressgasse in Saint-Germain, gönnen wir uns zum Abschluss einen sündhaft-köstlichen Sonntags-Brunch – natürlich im „Un Dimanche à Paris“, einem Restaurant und „Chocolate Concept Store“. Hier können wir auch gleich noch ein paar Mitbringsel für Daheim erstehen, bevor wir mit vollem Bauch und Wehmut im Herzen die Heimreise antreten…